Vietnam and Hofstede’s Value Dimensions

Using Hofstede’s website to examine the cultural differences between the United States and Vietnam was greatly beneficial. The areas that were compared were power distance, individualism, masculinity/femininity, uncertainty avoidance, and long term orientation. All areas are shown to be extremely different between these two countries.

      Image               Image

A high power distance is centrally important to Vietnam’s culture. Essentially, this means that people do not view each other’s positions as equal. Authority is never challenged. The U.S. is basically opposite regarding this cultural quality. Everyone wants to be viewed as equally important. If I were working for a Vietnamese company, I would have to greatly adjust my communication regarding power distance. I would not call my boss by his/her first name and be casual in conversation, but instead show a great amount of respect when addressing him/her. I would call the boss Mr./Mrs. (last name).

The greatest aspect of cultural difference between the U.S. and Vietnam, according to Hofstede, is how each country views individualism. Family and loyalty are extremely valued in Vietnamese culture. Important decisions are often made by the family as a whole and for the family’s overall benefit. In the U.S., big decisions are made by the individual and for his/her best interest.

The next cultural difference is masculinity/femininity. The U.S. is higher in masculinity, which means that we are more focused on working hard to earn individual achievement Vietnam ranks lower on this scale, focusing more on the quality of life and importance of relationships. If I lived in Vietnam, I would alter my communication to be less focused on working long hours in order to make a lot of money and be seen as successful. I would slow down my pace of work and instead spend more quality time with loved ones building solid relationships.

Uncertainty avoidance differs in these two countries. In the United States, we are more set in our routines and schedule everything. Vietnam is more relaxed and less stringent on deadlines. This is something that I deal with constantly. I worry about the future and trying to get everything in order. If I lived in Vietnam, I would have to learn to relax and “go with the flow”. I believe that this would be a very helpful thing for me since I am constantly anxious about the future.

The last cultural difference that Hofstede hits on is long term orientation. Vietnam scores very high in relation to long term orientation, while the U.S. is very low. Vietnam, as a whole, is more focused on long term benefits and the importance of planning for the future, while America is focused on the here and now and what will give pleasure in the moment. Even though I live in the U.S., I naturally tend to be very focused on long term orientation. I love saving money and planning for the future. Maybe I should move to Vietnam..

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment